Black Bean Burgers, Potato Wedges, and Taco Pie

I’ve been struggling with losing weight for two years now and have off-and-on tried different methods of changing my diet and lifestyle for the better. As 80% of weight loss is through food, I know how important it is to get my meals figured out. So, some meals that I never would have attempted or thought of trying have made it into my life . W One such meal is our black bean burgers, which have become a staple in menu planning. We tested out an additional recipe called a taco pie, which I found through absentmindedly browsing a Paleo website. As usual, check below for images, links, and opinions!

We’ve tried several different black bean burger recipes, but we think this one is the best. I make the recipe exactly as the website instructs, except that  I use the handle from this burger press set  to crush the black beans in a bowl, instead of a fork. I find that it gives a very satisfying squish, does a great job of mashing the black beans quickly, and is just as easy to clean up. I use a toaster oven to bake these patties, which frees up the “normal” oven for my potato wedges.  P tops his burger with mayo slathered buns, ketchup, mustard, lettuce, and tomato. The same thing ends up on my plate, except I trade the mayo for some sweet relish. Often I trade the bun for lettuce to save on calories. Not entirely sure where I found the recipe for the wedges, but this is what I do:

  • 2 potatoes, cut into wedges (to watch Gordon Ramsey’s tips, click here)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 cloves of garlic, mashed and minced (watch Bridget Lancaster’s tips, click here)
  • 1/4 teaspoon parsley
  • 1/4 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  1. Mix it all together and toss wedges in the mixture.
  2. Spray foil lined baking dish with some cooking oil, then space wedges out on the tray.
  3. Bake for 35 minutes at 425 F. Bake longer if desired. We like ours a bit more crispy, so we bake 40-45 minutes.
  4. Cool, and enjoy!

While browsing through Pinterest and some cooking websites, I found Paleo Leap’s taco pie and put it on the menu for lunch the next day. We aren’t a Paleo family, so I didn’t have some of the ingredients on hand. Therefore, I adapted the recipe. Which seems a bit silly, since most recipes have to be adapted to fit into Paleo or any other such strict lifestyle, not the other way around. Nevertheless, we used whole wheat flour instead of almond flour, ground turkey instead of ground beef, Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ instead of homemade BBQ, green bell pepper instead of red, tomatoes instead of avocado, and didn’t use any cooking oils or fats. The results? This made four servings at around 460 calories each. It was really good! The pie crust is really plain, but I don’t mind as I felt like the star of the show was the filling. Will we make it again? Maybe! I’d like to look up recipes for a sauce that doesn’t have so much added sugar in it, as barbecue sauce has way too much.

Leave a Reply

